My Account

Excellence in Local Government Awards

The Excellence in Local Government Awards showcase best practice in local government and recognise the skills, hard work, innovation and enthusiasm within local government that can often go unrecognised. The Excellence in Local Government Awards are held in conjunction with the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government.

Information for Applicants


ELG Awards 2018 Category Descriptions

The categories for the 2018 awards are as follows:

New 2018 Category: Outstanding initiative through the Municipal Districts

Municipal Districts were introduced under the Local Government Reform Act 2014 as an innovative, county-wide, system of governance and local decision-making. This award seeks to recognise the impact of initiatives that maximise the contribution of the municipal district members to local authority effectiveness, particularly in terms of governance, local representation, conduct of council business, community engagement, and economic, social and local development generally.

Supporting Active Communities

This award seeks to recognise projects by Local Authorities that promote social awareness and work with communities to involve them in making their localities a better place in which to live and work. This category celebrates initiatives which promote active communities, development of the community or contribute to improved quality of life in an area.

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement

Citizens are at the core of local government and it is vital that their voice is heard on decisions affecting their communities. This award recognises initiatives which encourage increased citizen engagement and participation of members of the local community or collaborative projects between the Local Authority and the local community.

Health & Wellbeing

This award seeks to recognise best in class efforts by a Local Authority to promote the health and wellbeing of its community. Initiatives can include health programmes, sports programmes, outdoor recreational areas, development of facilities that enable physical activities, awareness campaigns and more.

Supporting Tourism

Tourism is a vital part of the Irish economy and can have wide ranging positive effects for communities and businesses. This award seeks to recognise best practice work by local authorities to promote and increase the tourism offerings in their local areas.

Promoting Economic Development

The relationship between businesses and local authorities is very important for the local economy of an area. This award is presented to the project which has enhanced this relationship and delivered innovative projects to support the local economy based on the direct relationship between local government and businesses, their primary funders.

Local Authority Innovation

This is a wide-ranging award which recognises innovation at any level and in any capacity within the Local Authority. Examples might include the introduction of new technologies, innovative methods of service delivery or projects that are unique and original in local government in Ireland.

Sustainable Environment

In following with the principle of 'Think Global, Act Local' this category seeks to celebrate Local Authorities that have taken actions to improve their local environment. This award will recognise a Local Authority that

works to develop, promote and foster initiatives that support the sustainable development of their local environment. Projects in this category should be outward looking and seek to promote sustainable or low-carbon approaches to protecting our environment and might include work on a diverse range of areas, from enhancing biodiversity to reducing waste or improving air quality.

Disability Services Provision

This category seeks to celebrate the provision of services that enhance accessibility or improve quality of life for all citizens in a Local Authority. This category may include disability friendly services, customer charters, signage and initiatives among others, which increase the provision of services for disabled members of the community and as such enhance quality of services and access for a greater number of people in the area.

Best Library Service

Libraries are an important resource for communities across the country and enhance the cultural landscape and recreation facilities of an area. This award seeks to celebrate best in class service by a library to their community and recognise innovative projects or offerings.

Sustaining the Arts

Support for the arts is hugely important for the vibrancy of an area’s cultural landscape and is a way in which communities can be inspired and celebrate creativity among themselves. The arts are a way in which people can express values, build bridges between cultures, and bring us together regardless of our differences. This award recognises initiatives by a Local Authority to further develop or promote the arts in their locality.

Joint Local Authority Initiative

As the saying goes, “two heads are better than one”. By working together and sharing resources and expertise, Local Authorities can enhance their service offering across a wider area for the benefit of an even greater number of stakeholders. This category is about recognising successful collaborations between two or more Local Authorities working together towards a shared goal.

Festival of the Year

Festivals are a great way for towns, villages and communities to market themselves and attract people from far and wide to share in a celebration or enjoy local amenities. This award recognises the best festival or event held by a Local Authority.

Commemorations and Centenaries

We are in the middle of a ‘decade of centenaries’ and 2018 marks another significant year in this decade. This category seeks to acknowledge activities by Local Authorities in commemorating centenaries and celebrating landmark occasions in their communities.

Heritage and Built Environment

This category celebrates best in class by a Local Authority to promote public interest in, and knowledge, appreciation and protection of local heritage sites. This can include enhancement or protection of the heritage environment, such as historic sites, promotion of cultural heritage, archaeological heritage and more.

Enhancing the Urban Environment

This award recognises initiatives that improve and enhance the urban environments within a Local Authority. Examples of initiatives might include programmes to keep the local area clean and tidy, improve the visual appearance of the local area, enhance local buildings, aid the development of an urban space, develop the greening of urban spaces and much more.


Click on the image below to read the ELG Awards brochure distributed on the night of the 2018 awards



For further information on the ELG Awards or for any queries please contact


ELG Awards 2018 are supported by:




Subscribe to our newsletter

Custom Website Solutions by Dara Creative*