ELG Winners 2008

The winners of the 2008 Excellence in Local Government Awards were:

Local Authority of the Year
Dublin City Council

Arts and Culture
Clare County Council – WOW Transatlantic Children’s Reading Challenge

City/County Development Board Integrated Service Delivery
Cavan County Council – Cavan Lone Parents Initiative

Outstanding Customer Service
Cork City Council – ‘Library Link’ to the Household

Economic Development
Roscommon County Council – Lough Key Forest Park – Moylurg/Rockingham

Environmental Initiative
Donegal County Council – Inch Levels Development Project

Energy Initiative
Kerry County Council – Power Generation and Improved efficiencies in Water Services

Waste Management
Cork County Council – Wastematchers, an online re-use of household goods initiative for citizens of Cork City and County

Partnership with Business
Bray Town Council – Bray Town Rejuvenation Implementation Committee

Planning Service
Wexford County Council 

Social and Community Development
Dublin City Council – Memorial Court

Sports and Recreation (Joint Winners)
Donegal County Council – Siúlóid an Chlocháin Bhig
Laois County Council – Portlaoise Leisure Centre & Portlaoise Athletic Track

South Dublin County Council – Virtual Learning Environment – Connect School

Town/Borough Council – Economic Development
Ballina Town Council – Branding Ballina as – Ballina Salmon Capital of Ireland

Town/Borough Council – Social and Community Development
Cavan Town Council – Cavan Town Council Estate Enhancement Grant and Awards Scheme

Subscribe to our newsletter