ELG Winners 2014

The 2014 shortlist and winners are as follows:

Supporting Active Communities
•    Dublin City Council – Boxing in the Community  
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal Hello Neighbour Programme
•    Wexford County Council – On Our Own Ground : Wexford’s Treasures, Parish by Parish **WINNER**

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement
•    Ennis Town Council – Ennis 2020 – Planning Beyond Recession- A Framework for Ennis as Hub for Development
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal County Libraries Early Years Literacy Strategy: The Youngest Ages Can Turn Pages 
•    Waterford County Council – Waterford County Comhairle na nÓg **WINNER**

Health & Wellbeing
•    Cork City Council – Functional Zone @ LeisureWorld **WINNER**
•    Mayo County Council – Moy Sports Forum GAA Outreach Programme
•    South Dublin County Council – Social Inclusion through Community Gardening
•    Wexford County Council – MIND YOURSELF : Wexford’s Information and Self-Help Programme

Supporting Tourism
•    Dublin City Council – Finglas Heritage Trail
•    Fingal County Council – Ireland V England Cricket Match
•    Galway County Council – STONE WALL WORKSHOP – Féile na gCloch, Inis Oírr **WINNER**
•    Leitrim County Council – The Leitrim Ambassador Programme

Supporting the Local Economy
•    Cork City Council – ‘Women in Tech’ – a joint initiative led by it@cork in association with Cork City Council 
•    Cork County Council – ‘Taste Cork’ Regional Food Marketing Initiative **WINNER**
•    Limerick City and County Council – Limerick City & County Council Business and Retail Incentive Scheme

Local Authority Innovation
•    Clare Local Authorities – Management of Risk: An opportunity for continuous Improvement
•    Limerick City and County Council – Creating a new agile public governance model through the merger of Limerick City Council and Limerick County Council **WINNER**
•    South Dublin County Council – Business Support Grant
•    Tipperary County Council – Tipperary County Data Unit

Sustainable Environment
•    Cavan County Council – Citizen Engagement Strategy for the Domestic Wastewater Assessments (DWWA) **WINNER**
•    Galway County Council – Golden Mile Competition and Calendar

Smarter Travel
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – County Cycle Map and Cycling Leaflets
•    Fingal County Council – Walkability Analysis Tool – A Step in the Right Direction
•    Limerick City and County Council – Limerick Smarter Travel **WINNER**

Best Library Service
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal County Council, Libraries Division Digital Strategy 
•    Kerry County Council – Kerry Mobile Library Service
•    Mayo County Council – Mayo Musical Instrument Lending Scheme **WINNER**

Sustaining the Arts
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – Musical Memories **WINNER**
•    Leitrim County Council – A Shannon Story
•    South Dublin County Council – Red Line Book Festival

Joint Local Authority Initiative
•    Dublin City Council – Children’s summer reading programme
•    Fingal County Council – National Building Control Management System (BCMS) **WINNER**
•    Monaghan, Meath & Louth County Councils – Action for Biodiversity

The Excellence in Local Government Awards showcase best practice in local government and highlight some of the great projects that local authorities are undertaking. The Awards are judged by a panel of expert judges working in the field of Local Government and have been taking place since 2004.

Please use the menu on the left to browse through previous year’s winners and shortlists.

Subscribe to our newsletter