ELG Winners 2016

ELG Winners 2016

The shortlist and winners of the 2016 Excellence in Local Government Awards are as follows:

Supporting Active Communities

  • Fingal County Council – Fingal Age Friendly Town – Skerries
  • Limerick City & County Council – Team Limerick Clean Up ***WINNER***
  • Meath County Council – Unity Centre, Windtown
  • South Dublin County Council – The Community Initiative Fund

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement

  • Cork City Council – Cork City Council’s Choice Based Letting Scheme
  • Kildare County Council – Celbridge Integrated Services Programme
  • Mayo County Council – Mayo Day ***WINNER***
  • South Dublin County Council – Annual Service Delivery Plan – “Where Your Money Goes”

Health & Wellbeing

  • Cork City Council – Growing Imaginations Sensory Workshops for Health and Wellbeing 
  • Kildare County Council – Athy Community Addiction Response
  • South Dublin County Council – HI South Dublin Healthy County ***WINNER***

Supporting Tourism

  • Carlow County Council – Carlow Food Tourism Project
  • Clare County Council – Ennis Book Club Festival ***WINNER***
  • Cork County Council – Fortress Spike Island – Phase 1 
  • South Dublin County Council – Dublin Mountains Partnership

Promoting Economic Development

  • Cork County Council – Beacon Retail Programme
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – The CoCo Markets
  • Limerick City & County Council – Innovate Limerick ***WINNER***
  • Mayo County Council – Mayo – The Connected County 
  • Offaly County Council – The Junction Business Innovation Centre

Local Authority Innovation

  • Cork City Council – Cork City Council’s Litter Fine System ***WINNER***
  • Fingal County Council – Fingal Online Consultation Portal
  • Kilkenny County Council – Open Planning
  • Limerick City & County Council – HAP Shared Services Centre
  • Monaghan County Council – Lifetime Dog Licence with free Microchipping and Registration
  • South Dublin County Council – Building the Lean Six Sigma Organisation

Sustainable Environment

  • Cork County Council – Implementation of ISO 5001 standard in Cork County Council 
  • Dublin City Council – Think Energy: Home Energy Saving Kit
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Biodiversity in Action ***WINNER***
  • South Dublin County Council – Social Credit Scheme

Best Library Service

  • Galway County Council – Rebirth and Reimagining – Ballinasloe Library: A Community Focus for a New Generation 
  • Offaly County Council – My Open Library ***WINNER***
  • South Dublin County Council – South Dublin Libraries Heritage Publications and Bookstore
  • Wexford County Council -Wexford Mobile Library Service – Literacy at the heart of Rural Communities

Sustaining the Arts

  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – dlr Performing Arts Award
  • Fingal County Council – The Lucky Penny 1916 Literature Project and Exhibition 
  • Kildare County Council – 1916 Sackville Street Art Project ***WINNER***

Joint Local Authority Initiative

  • Donegal County Council- North West of the Island of Ireland – A Strategic Model for Regional Development Growth ***WINNER***
  • Dublin City Council – Smart Dublin
  • Sligo County Council – Boosting regional enterprise, tourism and economic activities through overseas and transatlantic linkages

Festival of the Year

  • Cork County Council – A Taste of West Cork Food Festival ***WINNER***
  • Fingal County Council – Dublin Bay Prawn Festival 2016
  • Louth County Council – Drogheda Arts Festival 
  • Mayo County Council – Battle for the Lake Kite and Music Festival – Achill Island

Outstanding Customer Service

  • Cork City Council – Cork Cashes Out
  • Fingal county Council – Fingal Customer Care Unit 
  • Limerick City & County Council – Implementation of Customer Services Centres
  • Tipperary County Council – Integrated Customer Services Centre ***WINNER***

Enhancing the Urban Environment

  • Cork County Council – Clonakilty Urban Design Masterplan
  • Dublin City Council – Kilmainham Civic Space
  • Fingal County Council – “Keeping it Green” An Open Space Strategy for Fingal – Large Scale Bulb Planting in Civic Areas
  • Meath County Council – Ashbourne Main Street Refurbishment Scheme ***WINNER***

Heritage and Built Environment

  • Cavan County Council – The 1916 Exhibition and Experience 
  • Fingal County Council – Swords Castle: Digging History ***WINNER***
  • Kildare County Council – John Devoy – The Greatest of Fenians

Disability Services Provision

  • Fingal County Council – Adapted Physical Activity – Sports for All
  • Kerry County Council – Kerry Library Toys & Sensory Resources Service
  • South Dublin county Council – Learn to Cycle 
  • Wexford County Council – Wexford County Council Beach Wheelchair Initiative ***WINNER***

Commemorations & Centenaries

  • Carlow County Council – Carlow Ireland 2016 “Reflections from a Light Box” 
  • Dublin City Council – Dublin Remembers 1916 – 2016: Is Cuimhin Linn ***WINNER***
  • Fingal County Council – Fingal 2016 Centenary Programme
  • Kildare County Council – 1916 Sackville Street Art Project
  • Meath County Council – Battle of Ashbourne State Ceremony and Commemorative Event 
  • Monaghan County Council – From a Whisper to a Roar – Exploring the Untold Story of Monaghan
  • South Dublin County Council- Commemorative plaza with new entrance to Pearse Museum and St. Enda’s Park, Grange Road, Rathfarnham, Dublin 16
  • Wexford County Council – County Wexford 1916 Centenary Commemorative Programme

 Local Authority of the Year

  • Fingal County Council

You can view the 2016 ELG Awards booklet here.

Subscribe to our newsletter