ELG Awards Shortlist 2019

Complete Shortlist for the Excellence in Local Government Awards 2019  

*New 2019 Category*: Age Friendly Initiative

  • Cavan County Council – Cavan Older People’s Council Drama Project
  • Clare County Council – Clare Cultural Companions
  • Cork City Council – Friendly Call Cork
  • Fingal County Council, Limerick City and County Council and Meath County Council – The Acorn Project
  • Kilkenny County Council – ‘Welcome to Kilkenny – Please take a Seat’
  • Mayo County Council – Age Friendly Airport Guidelines **WINNER**
  • Monaghan County Council – An Age Friendly Guide to Communication

Supporting Active Communities

  • Cork City Council – Cork Learning City
  • Cork County Council – Blackwater and Creativity in County Cork **WINNER**
  • Leitrim County Council – Leitrim Public Participation Network (PPN) Defibrillator Mapping
  • South Dublin County Council – Five Year PlaySpace Programme
  • Tipperary County Council – Richard Mulcahy Sensory Playground and Garden

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement

  • Carlow County Council – Carlow Public Participation Network (PPN) Community Consultation Toolkit
  • Cavan County Council – Voices of the Troubles – An Oral History
  • Cork City Council – Shape Your City Voter Registration & Information Initiative
  • Fingal County Council – Our Balbriggan – Imagine the Possibilities – Get Involved. **WINNER**
  • Monaghan County Council – Monaghan Community Alerts

Health & Wellbeing

  • Carlow County Council – Healthy Streets Carlow
  • Cork City Council – Cork Sanctuary Runners **WINNER**
  • Cork County Council – Teen Talk with Cork County Council and Healthy Ireland
  • Fingal County Council – Healthy Fingal Learning Portal
  • Limerick City and County Council – We’re Breastfeeding Friendly Limerick

Supporting Tourism

  • Clare County Council – Clare Museum – Tourism Support Project
  • Cork City Council – The Lee Sessions
  • Fingal County Council – The Fingal Events Unit
  • Kerry County Council – From Berlin to Kerry ** JOINT WINNER**
  • Monaghan County Council – Rossmore Forest Park Tourism & Recreational Development
  • South Dublin County Council – The Round Tower, Visitor Centre, Clondalkin – Brú Chrónáin **JOINT WINNER**

Promoting Economic Development

  • Cork County Council – Bridge to Masschallenge Cork Programme **WINNER**
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Smart Sandyford
  • Kildare County Council – Mid East Region Innovation Think Spaces
  • Limerick City and County Council – The Bays – Moyross Training Facility
  • South Dublin County Council – The South Dublin Sustainable Business Programme

Local Authority Innovation

  • Cork City Council – Arus Mhuire Rightsizing Housing Project **WINNER**
  • Dublin City Council – Litter Bin Tagging Project
  • Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – dlr Online Grants Management System
  • Fingal County Council – End to end Mobile Solution for Private Rented Dwelling Inspections
  • Kildare County Council – Climate Action Regional Offices
  • Limerick City and County Council – The LITe Programme
  • Monaghan County Council – Monaghan County Council Rents App

Sustainable Environment

  • Clare County Council – Banner Beekeepers Association Apiary at Doora, Ennis **WINNER**
  • Cork County Council – Avoncore Estate Regeneration Project
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Electric Dreams
  • Fingal County Council – Pollinator Friendly Free Tree Initiative
  • Limerick City and County Council – Reuse not Single Use

Best Library Service

  • Cork City Council – A Journey Called Home
  • Cork County Council – “A Sound Initiative” at Cork County Library
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – My Open Library at Deansgrange Library
  • Fingal County Council – STEAM through Fingal
  • Limerick City & County Council – Watch House Cross Community Library Autism Friendly Resource **WINNER**
  • Meath County Council – Ashbourne Library Music Appreciation Club
  • Waterford City & County Council – Towers & Tales Lismore Story Festival Schools Programme

Sustaining the Arts

  • Carlow County Council – Take A Part Carlow
  • Cork City Council – Live at the library: Music for the community!
  • Cork County Council – The West Cork Fit-Ups Theatre Festival
  • Limerick City and County Council – The Autonomy Project
  • Wexford County Council – Arts Ability Programme **WINNER**

Festival of the Year

  • Cork City Council – Cork Lifelong Learning Festival 2019
  • Fingal County Council – Dublin Bay Prawn Festival **WINNER**
  • Kerry County Council – Listowel Writer’s Week
  • Limerick City and County Council – St. Patrick’s Festival Limerick 2019

Outstanding initiative through the Municipal Districts

  • Cork County Council – Community Fund Scheme
  • Donegal County Council – Hosting the DDF Irish Open in Inishowen MD – a place mobilised **WINNER**
  • Limerick City and County Council – NewcastleWest.ie
  • Monaghan County Council – Refurbishment and Remodelling of Clones Market House, Clones, Co. Monaghan

Enhancing the Urban Environment

  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Otranto Seaside Gardens **WINNER**
  • Fingal County Council – Smart Street Furniture
  • Limerick City & County Council – Derelict and Vacancy Initiative
  • South Dublin County Council – Clonburris Strategic Development Zone Planning Scheme

Heritage and Built Environment

  • Cork City Council – Set in Stone Workshop
  • Fingal County Council – The conservation, restoration and extension of The Casino building, Malahide
  • Limerick City & County Council – West Wall Walkway Kilmallock
  • Monaghan County Council – The Monaghan Spitfire – Life on the Border with a World at War **WINNER**

Disability Services Provision

  • Clare County Council – The Vision Symphony
  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Changing Places
  • Fingal County Council – Irish Aphasia Theatre
  • Meath County Council – Improvement of Changing Facilities at Kells Swimming Pool to improve accessibility for disabled pool users
  • Monaghan County Council – Your Vote Your Voice
  • South Dublin County Council – Sensory Pig Sty in Tymon Park
  • Tipperary County Council – Sign of The Times **WINNER**

Commemorations and Centenaries

  • Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – The Commemoration of the Centenary of the Sinking of the RMS Leinster
  • Limerick City and County Council – Decade of Centenaries Commemoration 2019 Limerick
  • Sligo County Council – Sligo Armistice Day 2018
  • Tipperary County Council – Solohead Parish Centenary Soloheadbeg 1919 **WINNER**

Subscribe to our newsletter