Chambers Ireland Announces Winners of 2020 Excellence in Local Government Awards – Mayo County Council named Local Authority of the Year 2020

Nov 26, 2020

Mayo County Council was named Local Authority of the Year at the Chambers Ireland Excellence in Local Government Awards which took place today (26 November 2020). The 17th annual Awards ceremony was held online and is organised in association with the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage. It showcases and celebrates the best of Local Government in Ireland.

Speaking this afternoon Chambers Ireland Chief Executive, Ian Talbot, said,

“Local Authorities are at the heart of local economies right across the island and make significant contributions to Irish society and the communities they serve. The value of this contribution has never been felt as strongly than over the past year, as towns, villages, cities and regions cope with the impact of COVID-19 on lives and livelihoods.  

As ever, it is an honour to host the Excellence in Local Government Awards. Our aim is to shine a spotlight on the valuable work of local authorities and profile the excellent projects and initiatives undertaken by teams in local government right around the country.

Congratulations to all those shortlisted, specifically each person who worked tirelessly on these excellent projects. Congratulations to all this year’s winners, each of whom set an example of what excellence in local government should look like.

Finally, congratulations to the 2020 Local Authority of the Year, Mayo County Council. We commend their commitment to excellence and the commitment they have shown across their work to ensure the sustainable development of the localities they represent, raising their county’s profile nationally.”

Minister of Housing, Local Government and Heritage, Darragh O’Brien T.D., commented about the Awards,

“Local Authorities have achieved the highest standards of performance, despite this year of great uncertainty. These standards are evident in all of the applications that were both entered and featured as the category prize winners in these awards.

Having local government structures working to such a high level has helped to maintain an important sense of community in these difficult times and an inclusive, caring society for all.

I thank Chambers Ireland for providing this platform to showcase the highly skilled, innovative and committed people who make up our local authorities, and I express my gratitude to the local authorities themselves for the vital contribution they make in communities across the country.”

There were sixteen awards presented plus the overall award for Local Authority of the Year. Individual awards were sponsored by: European Recycling Platform (ERP), TEKenable, Healthy Ireland, LGiU Ireland, Fáilte Ireland and EirGrid.

Specially commissioned crystal awards designed by Waterford Crystal will be presented to the winners when restrictions allow.


For further information contact Emma Kerins, Chambers Ireland on 087 970 7676 or email


Notes to Editors

About the Excellence in Local Government Awards

The Excellence in Local Government Awards are hosted by Chambers Ireland in partnership with the Department of the Housing, Local Government and Heritage t to showcase the best practice in local government across Ireland. The annual Awards began in 2004 to recognise the Local Authority of the Year and many other achievements delivered by Local Authorities and this year includes sixteen categories.

For more information please visit our website:

The full list of winners is as follows:


Supporting Sustainable Communities 

Fingal County Council – Shop Local Website

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement

Cork City Council – Social Distance Park Rangers Programme (Covid – 19 Response)

Health & Wellbeing 

Mayo County Council – Making Positive Choices

Supporting Tourism 

Tipperary County Council – Suir Blueway Tipperary

Promoting Economic Development 

Cork City Council – ‘Re-imaging the City’ – Pedestrianizing Cork City Streets

Local Authority Innovation 

Mayo County Council – Weather Impact Register App – WIRE 

Sustainable Environment 

Wicklow County Council – Relove Fashion Competition 

Best Library Service 

Clare County Council – Connections: Stories by Syrian Families in County Clare

Sustaining the Arts 

Offaly County Council – Music Generation Offaly/Westmeath 

Disability Services Provision 

Wexford County Council – Min Ryan Park Communications Board 

Festival of the Year 

Mayo County Council – Virtual Mayo Day 2020

Initiatives through the Municipal Districts 

Longford County Council – Embracing Remote Working Technology to Support Community and Voluntary Groups

Enhancing the Urban Environment 

Limerick City and County Council – Living Georgian City Programme 

Heritage and Built Environment 

Donegal County Council – Thatch Repair Grant Scheme

 Commemorations and Centenaries 

Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – Divine Illumination – Oratory of the Sacred Heart

Age Friendly Initiative 

Limerick City and County Council – Putting Your House in Order

Local Authority of the Year

Mayo County Council


Judging Panel

There are two independent judging panels made up of respected experts from the community and local government.

Round One

Tony O’Brien – Chair, ELG Judging & Principal, TOB Associates 

Dr. Seán O’ Riordáin – Chairman, Public Policy Advisors Network 

Martin Tobin – Chief Executive Officer, European Recycling Platform 

Louise Purcell – Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government


Round Two

Tony O’ Brien – Chair, ELG Judging & Principal, TOB Associates

Diarmuid O’Leary – Principal Officer, Local Government Governance and Elected Members

Karen Smyth – Head of Policy and Governance, NILGA 

Dr. Andy Johnston – Director of LGiU Ireland


Subscribe to our newsletter