Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council Scoop Top Award

Nov 8, 2012

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council was named the top County Council tonight (08/11/12) at the 9th Annual Excellence in Local Government Awards. Navan Town Council was named Town/Borough Council at the event held in association with the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government.

Ian Talbot, Chambers Ireland Chief Executive said, “In a time of change for the entire system of Local Government in Ireland, these awards remind us of what it does best: provide essential services, supports and activities for local people and local businesses.”

“Chambers Ireland remains committed to working with the Department of Environment, Community and Local Government and individual Local Authorities to ensure the best outcomes for all stakeholders in our local communities.”

In presenting the awards, Jan O’Sullivan, T.D., Minister for State at the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government commented “It is a source of pride my Department continues to be associated with this event – the award ceremony offers the opportunity to pay tribute to those in Local Authorities who through their dedication, creativity and ingenuity continue to meet the dynamic and diverse needs of our changing communities.” 

Individual awards were sponsored by: An Post; arvato; CBRE; Corrib Natural Gas; EirGrid; ESB Networks; The European Recycling Platform; GloHealth; Optic Nerve; and Zurich. Winners were presented with a specially commissioned trophy designed by Tipperary Crystal from their Louise Kennedy range.

Other Awards presented on the night:

Sustaining the Arts sponsored by Tipperary Crystal
• Roscommon County Council – Roscommon County Youth Orchestra

Supporting Active Communities sponsored by Eirgrid
• Dundalk Town Council – Open 24 Hours Art Gallery

Festival of the Year sponsored by Eirgrid
• Waterford City Council – The Tall Ships Races 2011

Best Library Service sponsored by Optic Nerve
• South Dublin County Council – Ready2Read – Promoting Early Literacy Development

Parks & Recreation sponsored by Tipperary Crystal
• Limerick City Council – Baggot Estate Amenity Enhancement Works

Supporting Tourism sponsored by Corrib Natural Gas
• Enniscorthy Town Council – Enniscorthy Castle – A View from the Keep

Partnership with Business sponsored by arvato
• Navan Town Council – Navan Town Renaissance Project

Joint Local Authority Initiative sponsored by GloHealth
• Local Government Management Services Board – Local Authority Safety Management System

Innovation in Technology sponsored by The European Recycling Platform – Joint Winners
• Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council – Higher Education Grants Online – Portal to a Brighter Future
• Wexford County Council – MapAlerter – Free text and email alert system for the public

Smarter Travel sponsored by ESB Networks
• Dublin City Council – Real Time Passenger Information System

Sports Development sponsored by An Post
• Leitrim County Council – Community Club Fitness Programme

Sustainable Environment sponsored by The European Recycling Platform
• Westmeath County Council – Pride of Place – Eco Friendly Schools Competition

Outstanding Customer Service sponsored by Zurich
• South Dublin County Council – Choice Based Letting Scheme – Empowering the Customer

Local Authority Economic Efficiencies sponsored by arvato
• Fingal County Council – The Process of Organisational Change in Fingal County Council 2009 – 2011

County/City Development Board of the Year sponsored by CBRE
• Carlow County Council – Rohingya Resettlement Programme


For further information contact Amy Woods, Chambers Ireland on 01 400 4319, 086 6081605 or email amy.woods@www.chambers.ie .0

Subscribe to our newsletter