Excellence in Local Government Awards Shortlist Announced

Aug 15, 2013

Chambers Ireland has today (15/08/2014) announced the shortlist for the 2014 Excellence in Local Government Awards.

The Awards are held in association with the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and sponsored by AECOM, EirGrid, The European Recycling Platform, Fáilte Ireland and Tipperary Crystal.

Announcing the shortlist, Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said, “Local Authorities have undergone significant changes in recent years but one constant is the standard of work being carried out across the country on a daily basis. We are proud to host these awards to recognise best practice in Local Government and I would like to congratulate everyone who applied and, in particular, those on the shortlist.”

Commenting on the shortlisted nominees, Mr. Alan Kelly, T.D., Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government said, “At a time of great change and transition for Local Authorities, this shortlist highlights their continued commitment to excellence in supporting the local community and economy. The innovative way in which they go about their work is evident from the impressive standard of entries. I am delighted that my Department is once again supporting these awards which allow us to pay tribute to the exceptional work done by Local Authorities.” 

The Awards will take place on Thursday 13th November in the Ballsbridge Hotel, Pembroke Road, Dublin 4. There will be a total of 13 awards presented across a variety of categories including: Supporting Active Communities; Local Authority Innovation; Health & Wellbeing and Local Authority Economic Efficiencies. A special award will also be presented for Local Authority of the Year.  

– Ends –

For further information please contact Amy Woods, Chambers Ireland on 014004319, 086 6081605 or email amy.woods@www.chambers.ie 

Notes to Editor
2014 Excellence in Local Government Awards Shortlist
Supporting Active Communities
•    Dublin City Council – Boxing in the Community  
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal Hello Neighbour Programme
•    Wexford County Council – On Our Own Ground : Wexford’s Treasures, Parish by Parish

Best Practice in Citizen Engagement
•    Ennis Town Council – Ennis 2020 – Planning Beyond Recession- A Framework for Ennis as Hub for Development
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal County Libraries Early Years Literacy Strategy: The Youngest Ages Can Turn Pages 
•    Waterford County Council – Waterford County Comhairle na nÓg

Health & Wellbeing
•    Cork City Council – Functional Zone @ LeisureWorld
•    Mayo County Council – Moy Sports Forum GAA Outreach Programme
•    South Dublin County Council – Social Inclusion through Community Gardening
•    Wexford County Council – MIND YOURSELF : Wexford’s Information and Self-Help Programme

Supporting Tourism
•    Dublin City Council – Finglas Heritage Trail
•    Fingal County Council – Ireland V England Cricket Match
•    Galway County Council – STONE WALL WORKSHOP – Féile na gCloch, Inis Oírr
•    Leitrim County Council – The Leitrim Ambassador Programme

Supporting the Local Economy
•    Cork City Council – ‘Women in Tech’ – a joint initiative led by it@cork in association with Cork City Council
•    Cork County Council – ‘Taste Cork’ Regional Food Marketing Initiative
•    Limerick City and County Council – Limerick City & County Council Business and Retail Incentive Scheme

Local Authority Innovation
•    Clare Local Authorities – Management of Risk: An opportunity for continuous Improvement
•    Limerick City and County Council – Creating a new agile public governance model through the merger of Limerick City Council and Limerick County Council
•    South Dublin County Council – Business Support Grant
•    Tipperary County Council – Tipperary County Data Unit

Sustainable Environment
•    Cavan County Council – Citizen Engagement Strategy for the Domestic Wastewater Assessments (DWWA)
•    Galway County Council – Golden Mile Competition and Calendar

Smarter Travel
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – County Cycle Map and Cycling Leaflets
•    Fingal County Council – Walkability Analysis Tool – A Step in the Right Direction
•    Limerick City and County Council – Limerick Smarter Travel

Best Library Service
•    Fingal County Council – Fingal County Council, Libraries Division Digital Strategy 
•    Kerry County Council – Kerry Mobile Library Service
•    Mayo County Council – Mayo Musical Instrument Lending Scheme

Sustaining the Arts
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – Musical Memories
•    Leitrim County Council – A Shannon Story
•    South Dublin County Council – Red Line Book Festival

Joint Local Authority Initiative
•    Dublin City Council – Children’s summer reading programme
•    Fingal County Council – National Building Control Management System (BCMS)
•    Monaghan, Meath & Louth County Councils – Action for Biodiversity

Judging Panel
The independent judging panel is made up of respected individuals working in various fields. The panels act independently at all times. This year’s judging panel is as follows: 

Round One
•    Donal Enright, Principal Officer, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
•    Tony Lenehan, Head of Stakeholder Engagement, Fáilte Ireland
•    Sean Ó’Riordáin, Director, Sean Ó’Riordáin & Associates
•    Karen Smyth, Head of Policy, Northern Ireland Local Government Agency
•    Geraldine Tallon, Former Secretary General, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government

Round Two
•    Dónall Curtin, President, Chambers Ireland
•    Donal Enright, Principal Officer, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
•    Pat McLoughlin, Consultant, PML Consulting
•    Yvonne McKenna, Chief Executive, Volunteer Ireland
•    Tony O’Brien, Chair, Chambers Ireland Local Government Policy Council 

Subscribe to our newsletter