Excellence in Local Government Awards Shortlist Announced

Aug 15, 2014

Chambers Ireland Awards Celebrating Tenth Anniversary

Chambers Ireland has today (15/08/2013) announced the shortlist for the 2013 Excellence in Local Government Awards.

The Awards are held in association with the Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government and sponsored by EirGrid, The Gathering Ireland 2013 and Tipperary Crystal.

Announcing the shortlist, Ian Talbot, Chief Executive, Chambers Ireland said, “10 years on, the aim of these awards is as important as ever – to highlight best practice, stimulate ideas and offer encouragement to everyone employed in Local Authorities. Despite the changes that Local Authorities have undergone in recent years, the standard of entries continues to rise and impress the judging panel. These awards allow us to recognise the excellent work that is being done by Local Authorities around the country on a daily basis and I would like to congratulate everyone who applied and, in particular, those on the shortlist.”

Commenting on the shortlisted nominees, Mr. Phil Hogan, T.D., Minister for the Environment, Community and Local Government said, “Local Authorities play a vital role in supporting the local economy and the local community. The innovative and diverse nature in which they go about this is evident from the impressive standard of entries on the shortlist. I am delighted that my Department is once again supporting these awards which provide us with an opportunity to pay tribute to the excellent work done by Local Authorities.” 

The Awards will take place on Wednesday 13th November in the Burlington Hotel Dublin. There will be a total of 17 awards presented across a variety of categories including: Supporting Active Communities; Festival of the Year; Sports Development and Local Authority Economic Efficiencies. Awards will also be presented to the City/County Council of the Year and the Town/Borough Council of the Year.  

– Ends –

For further information please contact Amy Woods, Chambers Ireland on 01-4004319, 086 6081605 or email amy.woods@www.chambers.ie 

Notes to Editor
2013 Excellence in Local Government Awards Shortlist 
Sustaining the Arts
•    Carlow Local Authorities – Panchaea
•    Cavan Town Council – Trans-art Cavan 2012
•    Monaghan Town Council – Garage Theatre
•    South Dublin County Council – Tenderfoot
•    Westmeath Local Authorities – Luan Gallery, Athlone
•    Wexford County Council – Arts Ability

Supporting Active Communities
•    Cavan County Council – Castle Saunderson International Scout Centre
•    Cavan Town Council – Cavan Town Fit Box 2013
•    Dublin City Council – Bike it! Hike it! Like it! Drimnagh
•    Kerry County Council – Building Community Resilience
•    South Dublin County Council – South Dublin Traveller Culture Schools Project

Festival of the Year
•    Carlow Town Council – Pan Celtic International & Carlow 800 Festivals
•    Cavan Town Council – Fleadh Cheoil na hEireann 2012 
•    Dublin City Council – Dublin Tall Ships Event 2012
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – dlr FUSION Festival
•    Waterford City Council – Winterval, Ireland’s Christmas Festival

Best Library Service
•    Dublin City Council – Science All Around Us
•    Wexford County Council – New Library Building

Parks and Recreation
•    Cavan Town Council – Green Lough Nature Area
•    Clonakilty Town Council – Emmet Square / Kennedy Gardens
•    Dublin City Council – Fairview Park Improvement Project
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – Red Squirrel Conservation Project

Strategic Water Initiative
•    Cavan County Council – Erne Valley Water Scheme Partnership
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – Shanganagh Bray Main Drainage Scheme
•    Limerick County Council – Kilmallock Water Supply

Supporting Tourism
•    Ennis Town Council – Friar’s Walk Coach Park
•    Enniscorthy Town Council – Rebellion @ The National 1798 Rebellion Centre
•    Fingal County Council – Redevelopment of Malahide Castle & Gardens, Malahide, Co.Dublin
•    Tralee Town Council – TraleeBay Wetlands Visitor Centre
•    Waterford City Council – Waterford Museum of Treasures, the Viking Triangle

Partnership with Business
•    Cavan County Council – THIS IS CAVAN! Branding Cavan for Tourism Success
•    Ennis Town Council – Purple Flag Accreditation
•    Galway County Council – Made in Galway

Joint Local Authority Initiative
•    Cork City and County Councils – Cork Innovates
•    Cork City and County Councils – The Water Systems & Services Innovation Centre
•    South-East Regional Authority – Climatlantic
•    Waterford City and County Councils – The Waterford Gathering

Innovation in Technology
•    Dublin City Council – Pathway Accommodation and Support System (PASS)
•    South Dublin County Council – SOURCE South Dublin’s Digital Archive

Smarter Travel
•    Carlow County Council – Breathe Carlow – Carlow Active Town
•    Cavan Town Council – Smarter Travel Scheme
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – DLR Cycle Network

Sports Development
•    Carlow Local Authorities – McGrath Park Integrated Community Sports Facility
•    Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Council – DLR Waves – Women’s Football
•    Fingal County Council – Sporting Facts
•    Kildare County Council – Community Sports Leaders Programme  
•    Wexford Borough Council – The Rocks, Wexford

Sustainable Environment
•    Cavan County Council – What we have to offer
•    Cavan Town Council – Edible Gardens Project
•    Dublin City Council – Tolka Valley Greenway

Outstanding Customer Service
•    Dublin City Council – WiFi Project
•    Kerry County Council – The Graveyards Project
•    South Dublin County Council – Taking Steps to be a Literacy Friendly Local Authority

Local Authority Economic Efficiencies
•    Laois County Council – The Application of Cold In-Situ Road Recycling for the Restoration of Local & Regional Roads
•    Westmeath County Council – Westmeath Local Authorities – Restructuring

Judging Panel
The independent judging panel is made up of respected individuals working in various fields. The panels act independently at all times. This year’s judging panel is as follows: 

Preliminary Panel
•    William Batt, Partner, Indecon Economic Consultants
•    Donal Enright, Principal Officer, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
•    Deirdre Garvey, CEO, The Wheel
•    Jim Miley, Project Director, The Gathering Ireland 2013
•    Sean Ó’Riordáin, Public Policy Advisors Network

Main Panel
•    Dónall Curtin, President, Chambers Ireland
•    Donal Enright, Principal Officer, Department of the Environment, Community and Local Government
•    Pat McLoughlin, Chief Executive, Irish Payment Services Organisation
•    Paul McSweeney, Chief Executive Officer, Local Government Management Agency
•    Tony O’Brien, Chair, Chambers Ireland Local Government Policy Council 

Subscribe to our newsletter