“Tireless work” of local authorities to be recognised at Excellence in Local Government Awards

Apr 6, 2021

Chambers Ireland has today (6 April 2021) launched the Excellence in Local Government Awards 2021 and is now inviting applications from all 31 Local Authorities to showcase their best work over the last year across 16 categories.

Hosted in partnership with the Department of Housing, Local Government and Heritage, the 18th edition of the awards will seek to shine a light on achievements of local government in supporting communities, towns and cities through the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Speaking this morning, Ian Talbot, Chambers Ireland Chief Executive said:

“While the national government has been front and centre in directing the response to COVID-19, local authorities across Ireland have been working hard in the background to respond to the changing behaviour of the public as so many people spend their time closer to home.

“This response has required agile thinking and innovative practice, qualities that have helped to deliver impressive projects and raised the bar to provide accessible amenities and infrastructure.

“Because our world has become much smaller over the past 12 months, the value of our communities and shared spaces has never been more essential. While people give these places life, and businesses help them grow, it is our local authorities that set the foundations for everything to work together.

“The 2021 Awards seeks to pay tribute to the tireless work of local government and the positive impact it has on local economies and communities.”

In addition to the individual categories, the awards will also bestow its flagship award for Local Authority of the Year. In 2020, this was won by Mayo County Council.

The deadline for submissions to the Excellence in Local Government Awards 2021 is Friday, May 7. Applications can be made through an online portal available here. Winners will be announced at a ceremony on Thursday, November 18.


For further information, please contact Jonathan Baxter, communications and media executive at Chambers Ireland on 086 608 1605 or jonathan.baxter@chambers.ie.

Notes to Editor

The 16 award categories at the Excellence in Local Government Awards include:

  • Age-Friendly Initiative
  • Initiatives through Municipal Districts
  • Supporting Sustainable Communities
  • Best Practice in Community Engagement
  • Health and Wellbeing
  • Supporting Tourism
  • Promoting Economic Development
  • Local Authority Innovation
  • Sustainable Environment
  • Disability Services
  • Best Library Service
  • Sustaining the Arts
  • Festival of the Year
  • Commemorations and Centenaries
  • Heritage and the Built Environment
  • Enhancing the Urban Environment

The Local Authority of the Year Award is separate to this list and is not open for submissions. The winner is selected based on the quality of application(s) from a single authority across all categories.

Subscribe to our newsletter